# Skipping the consent screen

Permission that is consented with the "Channel consent simplification" feature

When users give Consent on getting user profile information, which is displayed when they first add a LINE Official Account as a friend, it will be deemed that they've given consent to other LINE Official Accounts on getting their profile information, so the consent screen will be skipped thereafter. In the same way, when you enable the "Channel consent simplification" feature described in this page, once users give their consent to a LINE MINI App channel, they will be able to skip the consent screen on subsequent LINE MINI Apps that they access for the first time.

However, based on LINE's privacy policy, the permission to skip the consent screen using the "Channel consent simplification" feature is limited to user ID (the openid scope). Permission required to get user profile information or permission to send messages (such as the profile scope and the chat_message.write scope) aren't covered by "Channel consent simplification". Users will be prompted to give consent for these permissions when they become necessary within each LINE MINI App.

When a user accesses a LINE MINI App with the openid scope enabled, a consent screen is displayed where they need to consent to their user ID being used within the LINE MINI App.

However, when you turn on the "Channel consent simplification" feature for your LINE MINI App on the LINE Developers Console, users will only have to undergo the consent process once. Thereafter, whenever they access another LINE MINI App for the first time, they will be able to skip the consent process and start using the service immediately.

Turning on the "Channel consent simplification" setting makes it easier for users to access LINE MINI Apps. We recommend enabling "Channel consent simplification" to reduce the burden on users.

Operating conditions of "Channel consent simplification"

"Channel consent simplification" operates only in these environments:

  • Version of LIFF SDK for LINE MINI App: v2.13.x or later
  • Version of LINE to access the LINE MINI App: 11.14.0 or later
LINE MINI App may not function properly depending on the design

On the LINE MINI App channel, the only permission that is automatically granted by the "Channel consent simplification" feature is getting user ID. Therefore, if you've designed your channel to use the access token obtained from the LIFF SDK to call the LINE Login API and other LINE APIs, the "Channel consent simplification" feature may not work properly.

Before starting to use the "Channel consent simplification" feature, check how the usage of access tokens applies in the case of the LINE MINI App, and confirm operation in the development environment.

Example of impact:
A design that uses the LIFF SDK to obtain an ID token along with an access token, and uses the profile information (display name, email address, profile image, etc.) obtained through the ID token to create a LINE MINI App service account.

# Differences in behavior when the "Channel consent simplification" setting is On and Off

Even if a user has already given their consent on the "Consent screen" when they first accessed a LINE MINI App, whenever they access another LINE MINI App for the first time, the same "Consent screen" will be displayed.

However, in the case of a LINE MINI App with the "Channel consent simplification" setting on, the user only has to give their consent on the "Consent screen" once during their first access. Any LINE MINI App they access for the first time thereafter will skip the consent process and open soon after a "loading screen" is displayed.

The table below explains the differences in behavior when accessing a LINE MINI App with the "Channel consent simplification" setting On and Off.

"Channel consent
simplification"
setting
When accessing LINE MINI App A for the first time When accessing LINE MINI App B for the first time
Off feature off (App A)
"Consent screen" is displayed.
feature off (App B)
"Consent screen" is displayed.
On feature on (App A)
"Channel consent screen" is displayed.
feature on (App B)
"Consent screen" is skipped.

For the detailed workflow of accessing a LINE MINI App that has "Channel consent simplification" enabled, see Detailed workflow of "Channel consent simplification".

# The "Channel consent simplification" feature setup

Follow these steps to turn on "Channel consent simplification".

  1. From the LINE MINI App channel on the LINE Developers Console, locate the Channel consent simplification section under the LIFF tab and toggle the slider on (right).

    Channel consent simplification toggle button

    Conditions for configuring the "Channel consent simplification" feature

    You can only configure the "Channel consent simplification" feature when these conditions are met.

    • LINE MINI App "Region" is set to "Japan":

      Only those LINE MINI Apps with Region set to "Japan" can configure this feature. Region can only be configured when you first create your LINE MINI App channel.

      Region settings


    • LINE MINI App channel status is "Developing":

      Only those LINE MINI Apps whose status is "developing" can configure this feature.

      Developing process

  2. When the confirmation dialog is displayed, click Enable.

    confirm dialog

    openid is automatically enabled

    When using "Channel consent simplification", you need the openid scope, which has the authority to get user ID. When the "Channel consent simplification" setting is on, the openid scope will automatically be enabled. When the "Channel consent simplification" setting is turned off, you have the option of manually selecting the openid scope.

    openid scope setting

# Detailed workflow of "Channel consent simplification"

The first time a user accesses a LINE MINI App with the "Channel consent simplification" setting enabled, the "Channel consent screen" will be displayed.

  1. From the "channel consent screen", click Allow.

    channel consent screen

    The LINE MINI App loading screen will be displayed.

    When a user clicks Allow, it will be deemed that they agreed to the use of their user ID in other LINE MINI Apps, so that when they access other LINE MINI Apps going forward, the "Consent screen" will be skipped, and the LINE MINI App will open immediately.

    When the "Channel consent screen" appears again if you click "Not now"

    By clicking Not now on the Channel consent screen, the user can skip the consent for simplification, and the "Channel consent screen" won't be displayed, even when they open other LINE MINI Apps. The Channel consent screen will reappear once 24 hours have passed.

    If the user skips the consent for simplification, they will see a separate consent screen for each LINE MINI App they open, as they would if the "Channel consent simplification" feature were turned off.

  2. From the "loading screen", click Open app now.

    On the "loading screen"
    • Even if the user doesn't click Open app now from the "loading screen", the LINE MINI App will be displayed without any user action, once the progress bar is complete.
    • After the user consents to the "Channel consent screen", the "loading screen" will be displayed only once when the user accesses each LINE MINI App for the first time.

    LINE MINI App loading screen

    LINE MINI App will be displayed.

  3. Click Allow once the "verification screen" is displayed.

    When the "verification screen" is displayed

    The "verification screen" is first displayed, not when a user first opens a LINE MINI App, but when permission for scopes other than the openid scope (the profile scope or the chat_message.writescope etc.) is required.

    Therefore, if you've designed your LINE MINI App so that immediately after it's launched, it executes requests that require permissions other than the openid scope, such as the liff.getProfile() method, when users access your LINE MINI App, it will appear as if the consent screen is displayed without being skipped.

    Check the verification for each scope, and click Allow to open the LINE MINI App.

    verification screen

    Adding friends through the bot link feature

    Adding friends via the bot link feature will be displayed on the verification screen. However, if only the openid scope is specified for Scopes when "Channel consent simplification" is enabled, you won't be able to induce users to add your LINE Official Account as a friend via the bot link feature. In order to enable the bot link feature, disable "Channel consent simplification" or make sure your design uses scopes other than openid.

    bot link feature

Users who have followed the above steps will be able to skip the consent screen, even for LINE MINI Apps that they're accessing for the first time, and open LINE MINI Apps immediately after the "loading screen" is displayed.

Channel consent simplification enabled